North Carolina passes law allowing use of marijuana oil

A bill was recently signed into law allowing the use of CBD oil by patients with pediatric epilepsy in North Carolina.

Across the country, people's attitudes regarding marijuana are changing. Some states have legalized marijuana for medical use while others have taken the step to legalize the drug for recreational purposes, as well.

In North Carolina, legislators recently took action to assist families with children suffering from a disease with debilitating symptoms. Governor Pat McCrory signed a bill into law that legalizes the use of CBD oil in North Carolina.

CBD oil is a medicinal form of marijuana, in which most of the THC - the component of marijuana that causes a high - has been removed. The oil is effective in treating children suffering from pediatric epilepsy. Some children reportedly suffer from hundreds of seizures a day - CBD oil is able to reduce the symptoms significantly.

Parents of children suffering from pediatric epilepsy responded favorably to the news. Some families had made the difficult decision to move their families to Colorado - where CBD oil was already legal - and are now hopeful that they will be able to return to North Carolina.

The new law will require both physicians and patients to register to be allowed to possess CBD oil legally.

Fight marijuana possession charges in North Carolina

Possession of marijuana for recreational purposes is still illegal in North Carolina, although the penalties vary significantly depending on the quantity of the drug found in the individual's possession.

If someone is found in possession of one-half ounce of marijuana or less, the penalties are the least severe. In such cases, an individual can be fined up to $200 if convicted.

If an individual is found with between one-half ounce and 1.5 ounces of marijuana in North Carolina, he or she can face misdemeanor charges. Upon conviction, he or she could face between one and 45 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

If someone is found in possession of between 1.5 ounces and 10 pounds of marijuana in the state, he or she could face felony charges. If convicted, the potential penalties include between three to eight months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

The penalties are heightened if an individual is charged with possession of marijuana with intent to distribute.

When someone faces charges of marijuana possession in North Carolina, the consequences can be serious. If you or someone you love is facing such charges, you should seek the counsel of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney, who will work with you to establish a strong defense on your behalf.

Keywords: North Carolina, marijuana, possession, medical marijuana