CR - Christina RivenBark & Associates Attorneys At Law
Free Consultation
910-338-9813
Representing in Wilmington, NC & South Eastern North Carolina
Email Us Now

Laura's Law making its way through the North Carolina legislature

The law is about to get tougher in North Carolina for those accused of habitual DWI. Named after a girl who was killed last year by a driver convicted of repeat DWI offenses, who happened to be driving drunk again and caused the car wreck and the girl's death, the law has passed "unanimously" in the state senate, as Barry Smith reports for ENC Today.

It would be called Laura's Law, after Laura Fortenberry, who was only 17 years old at the time of the drunk-driving crash.

As Smith reports, Laura's Law would include the following consequences for those drivers convicted of repeat DWI offenses:

•· Fines of up to $10,000

•· Prison time between 12 months and 36 months

•· Continuous alcohol monitoring for four months after release from prison

•· Increased court costs of $100

Of the drunk-driving accident that took Laura's life, state senator Debbie Clary said, "Laura was a beautiful 17-year-old in Gaston County. Laura lost her life that evening." Laura had been a passenger in the car that was hit by the drunk driver.

Source: ENC Today, "Laura's Law gets initial approval from N.C. Senate," by Barry Smith, 6/14/11

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information