CR - Christina RivenBark & Associates Attorneys At Law
Free Consultation
910-338-9813
Representing in Wilmington, NC & South Eastern North Carolina
Email Us Now

New law: Automatic license revocation for teen drivers

As Bruce Siceloff reports for The Herald, the North Carolina legislature has passed new law affecting the graduated driver's license program. Part of the changes in the law includes an automatic driver's license revocation - for 30 days - after a teen has been charged with certain traffic violations.

These violations include:

  • Reckless driving
  • Aggressive driving
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Speeding more than 15 mph over the limit

Says one state legislator: "The main purpose was to get our teens to think before they speed or commit other criminal moving violations, and to give them more time behind the wheel with adult supervision."

As Siceloff reports, the legislator also said, "If they're not going to fear death, maybe they'll fear the suspension of their license."

The graduated driver's license program in North Carolina will require teens with a learner's permit to keep a 60-hour log in order to get the provisional driver's license.

Source: The Herald, "State: Teen driving log can wait," by Bruce Siceloff, 10/02/11

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information