CR - Christina RivenBark & Associates Attorneys At Law
Free Consultation
Representing in Wilmington, NC & South Eastern North Carolina
Email Us Now

Unlicensed driver charged with reckless driving in fatal crash

As the Citizen-Times reports, a 13-year-old now faces criminal charges involving reckless driving and misdemeanor death by vehicle.

On Nov. 7, the 13-year-old unlicensed driver was heading down Glen Cove Road into a cul-de-sac at 50 miles per hour with his 15-year-old friend in the front passenger seat. The cul-de-sac ended, and the Toyota pickup truck (taken without the owner's knowledge, says the North Carolina Highway Patrol) had what appears to be a single-vehicle accident.

The 15-year-old was killed; the 13-year-old was injured but survived and continues to attend classes at school.

When asked, the prosecutor said, "He's a juvenile, and it's a pending case. I can't comment on a pending case."

In North Carolina, reckless driving charges can result in significant points added to your driver's license, in addition to fines and dramatically increased insurance rates. Obviously, it's too early to tell what might happen to the 13-year-old unlicensed driver - he has no license to begin with - but this incident may very well delay the age at which he may legally drive, in addition to other punishment in juvenile court.

Source: Citizen-Times, "13-year-old driver facing charges in fatal Arden wreck," 12/13/11

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information