A 40-year-old man was driving while license revoked in North Carolina when he cut another vehicle off and slammed on his brakes, causing injuries to 24-year-old Christopher Fisher. Fisher died as a result of the wreck.
As Bruce Siceloff reports for The Herald, the North Carolina legislature has passed new law affecting the graduated driver's license program. Part of the changes in the law includes an automatic driver's license revocation - for 30 days - after a teen has been charged with certain traffic violations.
As Chris Dyches reports for Statesville News, three North Carolina men were caught shooting bath salts. One is 18-years-old; the two others are both age 20. All three of them, according to police, were "very nervous and seemed to be very impaired."
The North Carolina legislature has voted on additional penalties for driving with driver's license revoked, including minimum fines and vehicle forfeiture. For an offense that is classified as a criminal misdemeanor charge, rather than a simple traffic violation, this recent legislation heightens the consequences of an offense that is already pretty severe in its penalties.
In North Carolina, as in many states, you do not necessarily need to have drugs on you to be charged with drug possession. In fact, police only need to find objects or material commonly used to ingest drugs, or in their manufacturing. This is called drug paraphernalia possession.
Holiday weekends often have what police officers refer to as "heightened DWI enforcement." Halloween was no exception. Between additional patrols and checkpoints, officers throughout North Carolina arrested many people and issued tickets to many more.
Every year, the North Carolina Highway Patrol spends two weeks focusing on issuing traffic tickets for drivers in school zones and near school busses. They call the initiative Operation Stop Arm. This year's program started on October 18 and runs through this coming Friday.