If you are considering hiring a North Carolina criminal lawyer, it is normal to wonder about the extent of your legal fees. However, it is important to note that the amount that your criminal law attorney can charge you will vary drastically based on the circumstances of your case. In order to understand what you will have to pay; it is in your interest to schedule a consultation with an attorney so they can give you an estimate of the cost of your case.
The reason why consulting with a criminal lawyer can be beneficial in understanding your financial requirements is that there are many factors that shape the cost of legal support. Different lawyers charge their clients through different models as well. For example, all of the following factors can play a role in how much money you will owe at the end of your case:
If you are facing a criminal charge, whether it be a felony or a misdemeanor, you are facing penalties that can change the course of your life. From costly fines and time in jail, life as you know it might be forever different for you and your loved ones.
When you hire a qualified criminal law attorney to fight for your rights, you are taking an important step to protect your future. Even if you plead guilty, your criminal lawyer can draw on evidence, character statements, and more to negotiate a light sentence.
A: The amount of money you will have to pay to hire an attorney in North Carolina will vary drastically depending on your case. In general, lawyers might charge anywhere between $100 and $500 an hour, but some lawyers will also want a retainer fee upfront, while others will not. It is important that you consult with your attorney about how they will meet your needs before hiring them to better understand the price in your case.
A: If you are charged with a misdemeanor in North Carolina, you are being charged with a less serious crime than a felony. If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor, you will be facing up to about 150 days in jail, as well as fines. Conversely, if you are convicted of a felony in North Carolina, depending on your crime, you could face up to life in prison and the death penalty.
A: If there is a warrant out for your arrest in North Carolina, the warrant will not expire. This means that law enforcement officers can exercise the warrant at any time and arrest you in any circumstances, such as during a traffic stop. It is thus in your interest to contact a criminal defense attorney to understand how to turn yourself in safely.
A: Only the prosecutor who is involved can dismiss your court date voluntarily in North Carolina. This often happens if there is evidence to support your innocence or a lack of evidence to suggest you are guilty. If you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney, they might be able to identify legal issues and potential defense strategies that lead to your prosecutor dismissing your charges.
If you are seeking legal support in North Carolina and would like to know more about pricing, consult with Christina Rivenbark & Associates about your case. We have over thirty years of experience standing up for the rights of North Carolina residents, and we can carefully review all of the facts of your case to determine the ideal legal strategy. Contact us today to learn more and set up a consultation.