North Carolina runs because the roads do. The people of North Carolina depend on the roads and highways to get to work and school, carry out everyday tasks, do recreational activities, and even leave town to go on trips. If you are like most of the people in NC who are driving weekly or daily, it’s important to stay informed on the current speeding laws and penalties in the state so that you can keep yourself and your loved ones safe.
While many drivers in North Carolina are in favor of raising the speed limit from 70 mph, there is evidence showing that doing so can put people on the road in greater danger. For example, almost one-fourth of accidents that result in death in NC are attributed to speeding. In addition to this, studies have shown that increasing the speed limit also increases the number of consequent accidents. Regardless of your position on the matter, it’s important to know about all traffic laws if you are operating a vehicle on North Carolina roads.
In North Carolina, speeding law is governed by two main kinds of speeding. When it comes to basic speeding law, it pertains to the conditions of the road and driving accordingly. For example, if one day is snowy and foggy, then a driver will be expected to drive at a speed limit lower than the one designated for the road. On the other hand, if the road conditions are clear and sunny, then a driver can drive closer to the designated speed limit.
Absolute speed limits are clearly defined for the entire state. Once you go over the speed limit, then you can get a traffic ticket. Therefore, it’s highly advised to always drive at least 5 to 10 mph under the absolute speed limit.
Inside municipal corporate limits, such as in school zones, the absolute speed is 25 mph. Outside of these municipal corporate limits, the absolute speed is 55 mph. On the interstate, the absolute speed is 70 mph.
When you get pulled over for basic or absolute speeding in North Carolina, this will likely only result in a fine, which can be $10 to $50, depending on the amount that the driver was speeding. While the fine itself is not large, court fees associated with the ticket can be up to $200.
If you were speeding over 15 mph over the speed limit, this can result in points on your record. After getting a certain number of points, you can get your driver’s license suspended. Additionally, for speeding in school zones or zones where construction work is underway, a driver can be fined $250. It’s also important to note that speeding can result in aggravated charges for other crimes, such as fleeing authority or driving under the influence.
When it comes to speeding violations, there are some instances where such a conviction can be considered to be reckless driving. Being charged with reckless driving is more serious, and it is considered to be a class 2 misdemeanor. If you are charged with reckless driving, you can spend up to a month in jail and pay a fine of up to $1,000.
In the case that you are speeding and it leads to the death of someone else, this is a form of homicide. If you are charged with manslaughter by a vehicle, then you can face a prison sentence of up to around 13 years.
If you are concerned about a speeding ticket or reckless driving charge that you recently received in North Carolina and are worried about how this might impact your driving record and your life in general, a Wilmington, NC, Speeding Ticket Lawyer can help you with your situation.
The points system in North Carolina is used to keep track of traffic violations of drivers in the state. Depending on the speeding violation, a driver will get a certain amount of points added to their driver’s license. After reaching a certain number of points or committing a certain number of repeat offenses, they can get their license suspended for up to one year.
While you cannot get rid of every speeding ticket, there are sometimes situations where you can get the fine dropped. For example, if the information, such as the date or information on your speeding ticket, is inaccurate, you may be able to challenge its validity. Also, if you were speeding in the case of an emergency, or the evidence used against you is inaccurate or contradictory, then you might be able to get the ticket dropped.
In North Carolina, the maximum speed that you can drive depends on the type of roadway you are driving on, the zone that you are in, the road conditions, and the weather conditions. Theoretically, the fastest you could ever drive in North Carolina would be 70 miles per hour in the case that you were on an interstate highway, the road was safe, and the weather was sunny and clear.
The speed limit laws in North Carolina are serious and can result in hefty fines, license suspension, and eventually jail time, depending on the specifics of the case. In the state, going 15 mph over the speed limit is a level 3 misdemeanor, and driving a speed that is over 80 mph is also a level 3 misdemeanor. In the case that you are driving sufficiently recklessly, you can be charged with a level 2 misdemeanor.
If you are facing large fines or a potential suspension of your driver’s license due to speeding charges in North Carolina, a dedicated speeding ticket lawyer from Christina Rivenbark & Associates can help. Our team can work with you to understand the specifics of your case and help dispute any unreasonable charges that have been held against you. If you are unsure about your rights in a traffic case or need help building a defense, reach out to our office to get started today.